Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)

A warm and charming tale of life in northern England Publicado el agosto de 2010 (ePub) en inglés
    • Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)_0
    Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)
    • Resumen
    • Detalles
    • Garantías
    • Accesorios incluidos
    • Fecha de lanzamiento agosto 2010
      Editor Headline
      Formato ePub

      Ver todas las características

    • A Manchester lad's life in the early twentieth century - the slums, Smithfield market and the search for love...Billy Hopkins bases his engaging novel, Tommy's World, on the fascinating and inspiring life of his father Tommy, born in a Manchester slum in 1886. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Maureen Lee.'The characters will stay with you after you've finished the book, but what you won't be left with is the sickly sweet taste of nostalgia. If you like to learn something from a good story then this could well be... Ver más

    • 1,99

      Descarga inmediata

      Descarga ya tu ebook aquí o a través de la aplicación Kobo by fnac

      Kobo

      Kobo by Fnac

      Descubre el universo del eBook de Fnac

      Descubrir
    • Satisfecho
      o reembolso
    • Servicio Fnac
      a tu disposición
    • Devolución
      gratuita en tienda
    • Pago en el
      momento del envío

    RESUMEN Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)

    A Manchester lad's life in the early twentieth century - the slums, Smithfield market and the search for love...

    Billy Hopkins bases his engaging novel, Tommy's World, on the fascinating and inspiring life of his father Tommy, born in a Manchester slum in 1886. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Maureen Lee.

    'The characters will stay with you after you've finished the book, but what you won't be left with is the sickly sweet taste of nostalgia. If you like to learn something from a good story then this could well be the book for you' - The Bookbag

    Tommy Hopkins' early years aren't very promising. Born at the end of the nineteenth century in a slum district of Manchester, he's blessed with a loving, hard-working mam and dad, but they don't have two ha'pennies to rub together. The family is struck by tragedy not once but twice - but Tommy is a survivor. He quickly makes friends at school, and together they plot money-making schemes, settle scores and play lots of football. Then, at last, it's time to leave the playground behind. Denied the chance of a promising career as an engineer, Tommy finds employment at Manchester's Smithfield market and works his way up, finally becoming a porter. He's turning into a man, and amongst the young women who catch his eye is Kate Lally, who may just be the love of his life...

    What readers are saying about Tommy's World:

    'Well written and the characters are just so great... you enter a different world when you read a Billy Hopkins book'

    'Brilliant author, his books are really ones that you can't put down!'

    'Tommy's World was superb. Fascinating detail about life as it was. Unputdownable'

    DetallesTommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)

    Características digitales

    ¿Qué formato elijo para mi libro electrónico?

    Opinión Clientes Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)

    Condiciones de Publicación

    IMPRESCINDIBLE CON Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)

    KOBO by Fnac

    Disfruta de la lectura digital con los eReaders Kobo by Fnac y la APP gratuita

    Los eReaders de Kobo están diseñados para ofrecer la mejor experiencia de lectura. Las pantallas de alta resolución E Ink de bajo brillo ofrecen una calidad de lectura igual a la del papel impreso para reducir al mínimo la fatiga visual y así poder leer durante horas y horas, con su batería de larga duración. Y además, gracias a la aplicación gratuita de Kobo, podrás empezar a leer en tu eReader Kobo y seguir en tu smartphone, tableta u ordenador.

    Saber más