Candles in the Storm

A powerful and evocative Northern saga Publicado el marzo de 2010 (ePub) en inglés
    • Candles in the Storm_0
    Candles in the Storm
    • Resumen
    • Detalles
    • Garantías
    • Accesorios incluidos
    • Fecha de lanzamiento marzo 2010
      Editor Headline
      Formato ePub

      Ver todas las características

    • Her actions during one violent storm change a young woman's life forever...Candles in the Storm is a spell-binding saga from Rita Bradshaw that follows a young woman as she faces prejudice, war and true love. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Dilly Court.'Rita's sharp, darting prose with deliciously gossipy undercurrents, perfectly portrays the fragility of lives dependent on the sea... Rita takes us into the heart of a hardy community in a novel full of local flavour, atmosphere traditions and habits' - Sunderland... Ver más

    • 0,99

      Descarga inmediata

      Descarga ya tu ebook aquí o a través de la aplicación Kobo by fnac

      Kobo

      Kobo by Fnac

      Descubre el universo del eBook de Fnac

      Descubrir
    • Satisfecho
      o reembolso
    • Servicio Fnac
      a tu disposición
    • Devolución
      gratuita en tienda
    • Pago en el
      momento del envío

    RESUMEN Candles in the Storm

    Her actions during one violent storm change a young woman's life forever...

    Candles in the Storm is a spell-binding saga from Rita Bradshaw that follows a young woman as she faces prejudice, war and true love. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Dilly Court.

    'Rita's sharp, darting prose with deliciously gossipy undercurrents, perfectly portrays the fragility of lives dependent on the sea... Rita takes us into the heart of a hardy community in a novel full of local flavour, atmosphere traditions and habits' - Sunderland Echo

    The storm that's raging when fisherman's daughter Daisy Appleby is born in a village just north of Sunderland could be taken as a warning of a turbulent life ahead. It's during another storm fifteen years later that her father and brothers are lost and Daisy rescues William, heir of a wealthy Southwick family, with whom she falls in love.

    Soon, as her reward for saving him, Daisy is working for William's irascible aunt, while local lad Alf continues to court her. Warned off by Daisy's grandmother, William denies his own feelings and so it will be many years later, after much hardship and turmoil, that Daisy finds the happiness she deserves, amidst the drama of the Great War.

    What readers are saying about Candles in the Storm:

    'The historical setting is brilliant. You feel as though you are living during those times. Sometimes your heart is in your mouth as you turn the pages'

    'Best book I have read for a long time. Could not put it down'

    'Was enthralled from start to finish'

    DetallesCandles in the Storm

    • Editor Headline
    • Fecha de lanzamiento marzo 2010
    • EAN 978-0755375882
    • ISBN 9780755375882

    Características digitales

    • Formato ePub
    • Editor Headline
    • Fecha de lanzamiento marzo 2010
    • EAN 9780755375882
    ¿Qué formato elijo para mi libro electrónico?

    IMPRESCINDIBLE CON Candles in the Storm

    KOBO by Fnac

    Disfruta de la lectura digital con los eReaders Kobo by Fnac y la APP gratuita

    Los eReaders de Kobo están diseñados para ofrecer la mejor experiencia de lectura. Las pantallas de alta resolución E Ink de bajo brillo ofrecen una calidad de lectura igual a la del papel impreso para reducir al mínimo la fatiga visual y así poder leer durante horas y horas, con su batería de larga duración. Y además, gracias a la aplicación gratuita de Kobo, podrás empezar a leer en tu eReader Kobo y seguir en tu smartphone, tableta u ordenador.

    Saber más